Day 21 With Iggy: Finding God in It All 

If you have been following my blog, you know that I have been writing (almost everyday) for #31DaysofIgnatius- a celebration of Ignatian Spirituality. I was planning on writing each day, but ended up missing an entire week of writing. That is not to say that I have not been reflecting. Far from it.  This month has brought me many opportunities to see God working in my life through all things.

St. Ignatius emphasized contemplation in action. He believed that in order to live a spiritual life, it is necessary to live an active life. Our spiritual lives should  not be compartmentalized, rather, our spirituality should saturate all aspects of our lives as fully engaged beings. St. Ignatius understood everything we have and understand comes from God. Therefore, God exists in us and works in the context of our daily life. Contemplation in action means that we don’t live on autopilot. It means that whatever we do, we should do it  purposefully and with mindfulness. When we take the time to pause and reflect throughout the day, we can see God at work in all things.

So what was I doing all last week? I had taken some time off work to pause and reflect daily.

I saw God as I watched a sculpture move in the park.

  I saw God  in the San Francisco hills with a view of my church in the distance.

  I saw God in the crashing of the waves.


Through our fears, our memories, our anxiety, our happiness, our pain – His magnificence is ever present. He is as faithful as the rising of the sun and the rise of the tide.

I did not write everyday of July, but I definitely was able to reflect as I have learned to carry my faith and spiritual life with me in everything I do.

Leave a Reply

