Day 6 With Iggy: Finding God in All Things Even If You Don’t Feel Like It

photo (6)How do we find God in all things even if you just don’t feel like it? I asked this today as my enthusiasm for gratitude started to slow down. ( Six days in and I’m already slowing down).  Today wasn’t a bad day, but it just wasn’t my best day.

The thing about spiritual life is that it’s a lot like exercise. In order to see results, we need to do it everyday. We can’t wake up and expect improvement. We have to put in the effort daily. But aren’t some days easier than others?

I usually end my day with the Examen. It’s a great way to see how things went either good or bad. If things feel bad to you, the Examen can be a way to see good even in awful circumstances.

I have an app on my iPhone that helps me go through the Examen, but here are 5 simple steps from IgnatianSpirituality.com:  The Examen

1. Become aware of God’s presence.

2. Review the day with gratitude.

3. Pay attention to your emotions.

4. Choose one feature of the day and pray from it.

5. Look toward tomorrow

I had some time at dinner to review my day and I caught a glimpse of the sun setting over Lone Mountain. It was a beautiful reminder that I’m not alone out there. Even in the midst of some of my most gnarly thoughts, I have a God who graciously watches over me.  I ate my dinner with pacific breezes coming through my balcony window and felt peace.  Yes, you can see God in everything.

One thought on “Day 6 With Iggy: Finding God in All Things Even If You Don’t Feel Like It

Leave a Reply

