Day One With Iggy: Finding God in Our Job.

IngatianSpirituality.com through Loyola Press in Chicago is promoting #31DaysWithIgnatius. This is a daily series encouraging readers on social media to find their inner Iggy (St. Ignatius of Loyola). Inspired by this, I have decided to reflect and then write every day for 31 days so that I, too, might find my inner Iggy and God in everything.

I often find myself getting caught up in this mentality:” well, this isn’t my dream job, so why does this matter?”

That’s a trap!

As Catholics, the word vocation is often beaten into our skulls. I have even referred to it a few times myself on this very blog. What does vocation mean?  For those who haven’t had this beaten into you, vocation, which comes from vocare “call” and vox “voice” is our calling from God. We use our voice (vox)  and call upon (invoke or offer an invocation) God to find our calling (vocation). (Latin is fun!).

As we search for this true calling in our lives, we can get caught up with the thinking of life only in future terms.

Well, I will  be happy with another job.

I’ll put in more effort with my next job.

It will be better once I’m in another field.

We will always be in transition.  That’s a fact. We are people in constant movement.  So, sticking in the present moment will allow us to be focused on doing our best in our current position. Thomas Merton once said,

“A man knows when he has found his vocation when he stops thinking about how to live and begins to live.”

We all worry about the future, but getting caught up in the future can keep us from fully living in the present moment. God wants us to be happy. He is not a God of anxiety, sadness, or  discouragement. It’s not to say this life will be free of strike. Rather, we can rest peacefully, in the grace He gives us, knowing that He has a plan.

So, how did I find God today in work today? And how can you?

Four simple steps.

Step one. Practice Gratitude.

Practicing gratitude allows us to spend our entire day saying “thank you” for everything God has given us.

“God, this job is not my dream job, but it is the job you gave me, so I will praise you and thank you for giving it to me. Thank you that I can pay my bills and eat. ”

Step Two. Be Present.

Focusing on the present moment will allow you to see all the good things in your life. When we are too hyper-focused on the future, we can lose sight of what joy we can experience in the present moment.

Step Three.  Accept the situation as it is.

This could be really hard during a struggle or a crisis. Sometimes things are completely out of our control, but when we say, “do with it  as you will” and surrender that moment or situation to Him, surprising things can happen. When I feel anxious, I often pray the Suscipe.

Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty,
my memory, my understanding,
and my entire will,
All I have and call my own.

You have given all to me.
To you, Lord, I return it.

Everything is yours; do with it what you will.
Give me only your love and your grace,
that is enough for me.

Step Four. Pause and Reflect.

Sometimes the best thing we can do during the day is to take a moment out of our day to pause and sit in the silence. We spend a lot of time in our headspace, but how often do we pause and reflect on what is going on in our hearts. Sitting in reflection is a great way to hear God’s voice. After-all, how else can we truly know what our vocation is, if we are not quiet long enough to listen to what He wants to say to us.

I invite you all to take a moment sometime this week to be present in the moment and find God in the beauty of your workday.

Leave a Reply

