Light into Darkness

candle

“All the darkness in the world cannot extinguish the light of a single candle.” ~ Saint Francis of Assisi

I haven’t written in quite a lot time, but I have been reflecting a lot. Over the past few months I have sunk into another bout of depression. I am almost certain that this depression is not clinical, rather, more spiritual.

We live in a very broken world and I want so  desperately to do more. The state of the world pushed me into feeling out of sorts. The world around me seemed to be (and still seems to be) falling apart. I read the headlines and often feel  paralyzing helplessness. I have such a big heart for the people of the world and I want so badly to be an advocate for peace, mercy, and justice. I want to be a vehicle of positive change.

 As I learned from participating in the Sacrament of Reconciliation is that darkness is not of God. God does not want us to be paralyzed with sadness, fear, anxiety, or anything else that might keep us from rejoicing with Him. There will always be darkness. As I told a friend, who had written about her feelings of sadness about racism in America, Let love be sincere; hate what is evil, hold on to what is good” (Romans 9:12a).

There will always be evil in the world. That is a direct result of mankind’s deliberate self destruction. One of my favorite quotes comes from Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.:

Every man must decide whether he will walk in the light of creative altruism or the darkness of destructive selfishness.”

Those act in destructive selfishness ravish the world around us. It is time to walk in light.

Leave a Reply

